Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Dead Air

I am new at teaching and have found myself completely drawing a blank after I have covered a topic. I feel like a deer in the headlights or a radio dj with dead air not having a good transistion from one message to the next. I feel like the students are watching me scramble for my notes, trying to find my place in the lesson. Any suggestions?

Hi Tracy,
First don't feel alone we have all been there. It is common for new teachers to have problems with transitions. I would suggest that you have an activity planned for when you finish the topic. You would present content, the application through activity. The activity could be a learning game, like Jeparody, small group work, case studies, etc. Anything to get the students talking among themselves and focusing on an activity. This will give you a chance to "take a deep breath" and reload. Adults need redirection in their learning. So by pausing and having them do an activity you are also helping them to "catch their breath".
I would suggest that you develop 3 or 4 activities for each topic area. This way you will always have a plan B to fall back on to fill in the dead air.
Hope these suggestions will be of help. If you have more questions please let me know.
Gary

Tracy,

Man does it feel good to hear someone else say that. As a new instructor myself. I sometimes feel like I'm the deer in headlights or stuck on an island. I always wonder myself did I get through to the students.

Rest assured, you are not alone. After a few very long class periods with several minutes left over, I decided to research topics on my own and come up with additional information that may be of interest to the students. I have been an instructor for over 3 years, teaching dental assisting and I have not run out of topics yet. Also, the students continually come up with questions I don't have answers for and it gives us a chance to research new topics together.Good luck!