Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Model/Manager/Motivator

As a working professional in the field of study I often share with my students an event I dealt with during the day to allow them inside information about what type of issues they will encounter.

Hi William,
Great idea. Instructors are often criticized that they don't have practical knowledge only theoretical. You are giving your students immediate application of their newly acquired knowledge by sharing with them something that is relevant from your workday.
Gary

hello william I agree with the sharing of events that happen during the day, I am a barber instructor and i let the students know what types of clients they will have, and what kinds of situations they may have in the shop. I always hear I can't believe that ! I always say ... BELIEVE!!!!!!

It's important to remember that students learn by modelling their intructor--they can learn professional and social behavior as well as technical skills. But sometimes students may model inaccurately or copy an inappropriate role model. Then it seems more difficult to correct the mistake than if it were merely a conceptual misunderstanding, almost like a bad habit that's easy to pick up but hard to break. Any suggestions?

Hi James,
The one thing we do know about learning any new behavior is that it takes 28 tries. Twenty of the tries are used in removing the incorrect behavior and 8 are used in learning the new behavior. Think how much time could be saved by just learning the correct behavior right the first time. That is why animal trainers prefer to train young dogs or horses that don't have bad habits that have to be removed before introducing the new behaviors.