Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

re: icebreakers

Do You use ice breakers to start off a new module, and if so what kind.

As a photography instructor I find that a short slide show of some of my work both establishes my credibility with the students and invites questions that lead to discussions of many of the technical topics I wish to cover.

Hi Donald,
Good idea in showing your work. Often times I find that the students forget that all of us have earned our living working in the fields we teach. We know how to perform the tasks and processes that go with our area. By sharing what you have done in your field you are giving them a goal to strive for as well as illustrating to them that they can call upon you for assistance as they develop their own style and skill. After all that is what being an instructor is all about.
Gary

As an instructor I tipically start the class by way of review, such as asking questions related to the previous week's lecture. I feel this helps to facilitate the continued learning of the subject matter, and it empowers the student to test their knowledge and retention.

In my first semester drawing classes I like to show examples of my college course work and then examples of what I am doing professionally now. I want the students to know that the more they PRACTICE the better they will see and do.

Hi Timothy,
Good way to start the class. It gives the students a chance to reflect on what they have learned the previous class meeting and how they can prepare themselves for what they are going to learn at the present class.