Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Being Yourself

As a new instructor years ago I tried to be just like my Mentor. Needless to say it didn't work. Even though he was an outstanding instructor, his style didn't fit my personality and it showed in the effectiveness of my product. It's great to observe other instructors and "steal" good ideas but you have to find out how to make it fit your style.

Hi Steven:

Absolutely important point. If this were not true, we'd all be clones of one another and the quality of education would tank.

Regards, Barry

I agree so much with your point .When I stared as an instructor I had a great mentor and something I learn from him was, to be my self and that way ,I will rish more to my students.

I agree that you have to be yourself. You are who you are and your personality will never change. I value my student teaching experiences so much because I was able to observe so many different teaching styles. I could relate to some and others...well...I just couldn't understand why anyone would ever want to teach that way. I found during my observations that I would think about how I would teach the class differently.

I love my job and I believe it shows. I also take into consideration that the students, have families, jobs, troubles and I take the time to talk with them and try to help if I can. Don;t we all have families, problems etc. I also feel very comfortable with teaching, I make it fun and worthwhile for the students.

When I became an instructor 3 years ago I had no idea what I was getting into. But as time went by I found that being myself and not trying to do as others do helps. I still learn from my fellow instructors as they do from me, but I feel each instructor has to devleop his own technique.

Hi Tom: