Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

What type of Instructor are you?

I know that I am a Dead Poet-Drill Sergeant instructor. I am very passionate about the lessons I teach and its impact on my students. I am also very passionate about my students ability to follow the rules. It is my job, and duty, to ensure they not only have the proper technical skills to excel in the field, but to also have the soft skills to be able to retain their job. After all, very few of my students will start their own business immediately upon graduation, therefore, they must be willing and able to follow the rules of the business that employs them.

Whay type of instructor are you?

Hi Michael:
You've listed some very fine traits that I'm sure contribute to your student's success.

To define the kind of teacher traits one possesses could take more space and in an environment other than this forum. But I'll say that any good teacher that puts their student first with their learning the number one priority is going to be successful.

Regards, Barry

It's funny ready this here after our talk yesterday.
I feel that I am a Socratic Drill Instructor with Zen like tendencies.
I am trying different styles and approaches to suite the class dynamic at any given time. Thank you for your input and help.

I am the Drill Sergeant; however I soften my approach with humor and sarcasm. Many times I like to have students catch me making a mistake, or see if they are awake enough to catch me. It helps instill confidence and the sense that we are all vulnerable but can be successful no matter what our approach. If I can get students to lighten up even though I am rigid, then I feel that I have taught them something about life, and not to sweat the small stuff because it is all small stuff. We learn, we live, we move on.