Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Follow up collections

Hello,

I work in the Business Office and one of my daily functions is to monitor and collect funds from students that have "in-school" loans that need to be repaid.

Right now we are meeting with the students when they first enroll to discuss the importance of making on-time payments along with phone calls and facebook updates.

Another practice that we use is what we call the "blue-letter" system. This is where the Business Office will write up a note on a blue piece of paper and post it on a board in each class room. If a student has a blue letter they need to report to the Business Office.

Even with all of these practices we still have a number of students who are unresponsive. Does anyone have some other suggestions that we might be able to use?

The letter system seems to be the most effective form of getting the students into the offices to talk about their loans.

Thanks

Kristofer,

I think your "blue letter" system is quite a creative approach. Thank you for sharing that!

There always seems to be a few students who will be more of a challenge. Have you tried usuing faculty in helping to schedule times when you know the student would be in class and you could go to personally meet with them?

I would enjoy hearing some tips/sugestions others may use as well.

Cheryl Kesson

I am completly agree with you. I also believe one of the best way to reach and collect any past due on students are the letter system because I notice they answer quickly

Ricardo,

It is helpful to hear that this strategy has been successful for you!

Bringing communication from the Business Office and FA into classrooms or common areas creates awareness and demonstrates to students that they are not alone. If students see that communicating with the FA office is common for their peers, they may be more likely to respond and more willing to share information with us.

Kellee Gunderson