Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Kim, I have been doing this for eleven years and have an instructors manual. This manual has been updated, changed and changed again. We are always finding new ideas and information that will help instructors to do the best work they can. It's all about education and it doesn't matter what side of the desk you are on.

In order to offer a new faculty orientation, we make sure that we spend a reasonable amount of time with them. We offer them a first interview where we give them a new faculty orientation, then we offer them a whole day of trainings that include facilitation techniques, learning styles and adult learners, and finally a trianing on assessment. In the new faculty orientation we give them a tour of the institution and we also give them information on procedures, policies and guidelines, etc.

Since most of our instructors are part time, there is no need to go over benefits. The resources that are available to each instructor are explained and email accounts are set up along with voice mail phone extensions.

There should be more standardized information provided to new instructors to make sure they are successful.

Our new instructors receive training in different areas prior to offering a course at our institution. They are given a general orientation that includes general procedures, etc. ANother one in facilitation techniques, learning styles and a final one in assessment. What I would do differently next time might be to discuss the KSAO's with them and perhaps do an analysis to see which ones are possessed and wich ones need to be worked on.

Hi John

Good response. What changes you could make in orientation to improve instructor retention?

John,

Maybe all new instructors should participate in a "new instructor's orientation conference call" to discuss the following:
Goals of school
Student demographics
Our Web Portal
Course Structure, grading rubric
Instructor Expectations
Etc.