Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

How do you know if you are the problem?

This is a interesting question how do you know if you are the problem?

I try to make those I work with or train, feel safe with me.

I also open the door and let people know if there is a problem to please come to me and we can see how to resolve.

I am fairly confident in myself, and I don't mean arrogant. So I am not threatened if someone would come to me and let me know I am the cause of a problem. I would see what it is about, try to clarify mis-undertandings and do my best to resolve it.

Well, one must identify details of the situation, and get personal feed back from others.

Hopefully everyone that you work with is open to constructive criticism and comfortable enough with each other to talk with.

As a manager, i feel the same way. If you do all of the above i.e try to clarify mis-understandings and then the person keeps on been nagative whould it be acceptable to avoid communication i.e email and reffer the person to another manager to deal with?

My initial thought is that I would not refer the person to another manager. I recently faced this problem. I had a very negative employee on my team and the assumption of many was that he was just not happy with is job. He had devoted a few years to his work so I was very interested in saving him. It was after a couple sit-down sessions with him that I finally got him to open up. As it turns out, he was unhappy with his home life and quite stressed with meeting financial obligations as a one-income family. Unfortunately for all, he was bringing an unhappy face and nonchalant attitude to his workplace and other employees did not enjoy being around him.
I feel that avoiding communication with him or referring him to someone else would have only made matters worse. Understanding the root of the problem, and allowing him to talk about it, let him know we (the team) cared about him and made him feel valued.