Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Communication

It is important to hold instructors meetings at least once a monthe to give everyone a chance to discuss any issues they have or any topics they would like to discuss.

I have to admit I am not a meeting person. However, we have weekly faculty meetings at our school and I enjoy most of them. Our Director uses the meetings to inform, support, uplift, and address any issues of the day week etc. Our faculty team really functions as a unit because of our Director.

I must agree with Yolanda, when meetings are productive they work very well. We have a Director that uses meetings for the same purpose.

Do your monthly meetings include faculty that do not work full time at one of your locations? For example, I'm an adjunct instructor that travels a lot with my full time regular job. How do you communicate with someone in that situation? Thanks.

My boss distributes copies of the meeting meetings to each instructor and emails reminders, updates etc to all of the faculty.

I agree with the group about how critical monthly meetings can be. I'm also adjunct faculty and sometimes feel isolated but I've been doing this for so long that I've grown to appreciate the importance of monthly group meetings. It's sometimes tricky to work it into my schedule but I know the problems I encounter without that consistent line of communication. My college also offers recorded versions of the meetings if I can't make them, which is great. I also live by my e-mail and use that for everything. It just seems to get overloaded all the time, no matter how much I organize and delete. Does anyone have any suggestions on handling this issue? Thank you.

I AGREE ON THE MONTHLY MEETINGS. I ALSO THINK THAT IT'S IMPORTANT FOR THE MAIN PERSON GIVING THE MEETING TO BE OPEN TO CRITIZISM. A MEETING SHOULDN'T BE JUST ONE SIDED. IT SHOULDN'T BE TO INFORM PEOPLE ABOUT CHANGES AND THEN NOT BE OPEN FOR DISCUSSION.

I Agree