Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Motivating the Non Motivated

How do we motivate the Non Motivated? As a new manager, i'm finding this a bit of a challenge. There are some in the team who have no problem going that extra distance, who clearly care about what they do, and then there are some who just dont seem to care. I was always highly motivated and worked hard to always be improving myself and what i did, so its difficult for me to understand those who dont follow that lead and i'm just struggling a little with what to do about it.

This is definitely a difficult challenge. My question would be this: are they unmotivated to do the normal tasks or are they unmotivated to go the extra mile?

I ask because sometimes when we are high achievers we expect everyone else to be as well. If they are performing the job, at least at the minimum then I'm afraid there is nothing that can be done. While you may see more potential in them, they have to see it in themselves.

If they are not performing up to minimum expectations then you have a performance issue that needs to be addressed. Not fun, but necessary.

Hope this helps,
Ryan

I just recently tackled this issue with a new report. She was constantly unmotivated to start new tasks and happy to do the minimum. It became apparent that there was some resentment issues coming from her working for someone younger and feeling she was going backwards in life from her previous position. Facing it head on and addressing the issue had a great impact and she changed her attitude.

This is exciting to hear Caren. Often times these folks just want to know that someone recognizes what is going on & takes the time to listen. By addressing the issue you are acknowledging her struggles but also making it clear that this type of behavior cannot continue as it is not profitable for her, the team or the organization. The best thing to do in these situations it to make sure that we don't make it personal.
Ryan