Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

In my school, rubrics are generated by the administration. I understand the value of generating rubrics, but the problme is that it is not possible given the current state of affairs. I think that rubric generators would be quite helpful particularily if I was a course developer or creater. There is additional income available in developing courses, but the problem is finding the right contact person. Then, rubric generating software would be essential.

Donald L. Buresh

Donald,

You don't need specific software to create rubrics. And, if others are making your ruvpbrics, please, p,ease, p,ease make sure they are measuring the learning outcomes. The outcomes should actually be listed on the rubric itself.

I have used rubistar before as a rubric generator and it has worked very well for me. I really like the design and how precise this program is for developing a rubric.

Hi, Darcy:
I think you will like rubistar. I have never tried to use excel to create a rubric. Have you found that with practice, you have become better with creating a rubric?

Adib,

Yes, Rubistar can help. I even look at Rubistar sometimes to simply see if I have forgotten a category or how to word my criteria better, etc. Thanks.

Dr. Tena B. Crews

Adib,

With practice you will definitely become more comfortable with the process. Thanks for your input.

Dr. Tena B. Crews

I had not heard of tools for generating rubrics. This is great information. I will be sure to check it out.

Paula,

Yeah! It's always fun to learn more information. Check them out and see what works for you. Thanks for your input.

I have never used a online rubrics generator but they appear worth investigating.

Steven ,

I look at the online rubrics for ideas for criteria or what should be assessed (the category) and then I make my own. Also, we use BBoard and you can now actually make the rubrics within that system now. It's whatever works for you.