Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Sychronous chat

We don't use synchronous chat in the course I teach. It made me wonder if me along with others who were instructors of this course divided up time slots if we could get any benefit from this, even though we would be interacting with each other's student's due to scheduling conflicts.

As a therapist I love the interaction of a group. I am looking forward to the challenge of an online sychronous chat.

We do not use synchronous chats in the courses I teach as well. From my personal experiences, synchronous chats can be inconvenient for most students. Feedback I have been given by students is that asynchronous chats are better tolerated because the students can choose a time that best suits their schedule.

The courses that I teach, require 2 hours of synchronous chats each week. The percentage of students who attend live is not high (25-30%); but the chats are archived and I know students do spend time listening to the archive. The synchronous chats are an excellent way for students to get questions answered and for the instructor to demonstrate applying skills through screensharing.

I see a great benefit to synchronous chats in a virtual setting because it enables the students and instructor to dialog and answer any questions related to upcoming assignments. It also foster camaraderie among those attending. While archived chats are useful the downside from the viewer is that they are not able to participate in the question/answer sessions.