Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Keeping students engaged

As an online instructor I believe it is critical to my students' success that they remain engaged in the course for the duration of the course. It is very easy to lose interest in a course or find reasons not to "attend" when the course is virtual and attendance is not required in a physical classroom. I try to keep my students engaged by posting announcements regularly with catchy phrases and interesting information regarding the topic we are currently discussing. I also make sure my students know I am available for questions and encourage them to reach out often so I can assist them.

I could not agree more. I try to keep my live chat sessions lively and interesting, while remaining on topic. I have found that this results in a higher rate of attendance for my live chat sessions.

I also agree. I too try my hardest to keep students attention. I mainly show and share my own personal experiences but also find others to share. I like to share links to articles, blog postings and video that pertain to the overall class in hoping it excites the students to see what is in store for them.

The problem is no matter how much I post or share with the students, they seem disengaged and only do a bare minimum for Discussion Boards and do not attend the Live Chats. This can be discouraging to me.

I to encourage student to contact me with any questions yet none do. I mention it during the Live Chats, Discussion Boards and at the end of every email.

Traci,
It is easy to become distracted. Posting announcements and hyperlinks to interesting cites....will keep them logging in!

Shelly Crider

Sarrah,
We have all been in a classroom or a meeting when all you can think about is when it will be over. Thank you for being lively!!

Shelly Crider

Chad,
I am a firm believer in personal experiences. This is a great way to show the student what goes on in the work force.

Shelly Crider