Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

How much technology is necessary in an online course?

As an online instructor I often wonder if we can include too much technology within our online course. We want to make sure that we are including information that will enhance the students' experience, but make sure they remain focused on the learning objectives of the course. In my experience, I have seen students lose focus when I include too much animation or too many YouTube videos within my course.

Traci,
Good point.....too much of a good thing is distracting!

Shelly Crider

I agree with you Traci. Too many "bells and whistles" can detract and distract from the message. A new user of power point tends to use all the fancy "fly-ins" and colors on their ppts. I think this detracts from the message you are trying to send.

I would say that the question should not be how much technology, but hoe reliable is the technology used.

Blanka,
Great point! There are technologies that are out of date or simply should not be used.

Shelly Crider

That is a good point. I do not see it as too much technology, just simply too many resources. As an instructor, you need to consider and keep track of the hours expected to review the content and additional resources presented to the student. You may also want to identify the resources that are required for course success and other that are optional and will only supplement the core objectives. Lastly, make sure the students are aware of this distinction so they do not waste any time when they may be falling behind.

Traci,

I strongly believe that simple is the key work in any education environment.