Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

My methods for continuous learning are: volunteering for fundraising events in the community, attending conferences and competing in culinary competitions. All of these learning opportunities shows the students the importance of a chef's ongoing approach to learning.

Work a second job in the field to keep up on local trends.

I am an idustry chef,I still meet and see current operations operating.I visit my Chef friends and still have my hand of what is current

I attend meetings, read magazines, also attend different cooking classes to learn any new styles or even better ways of teaching and old dish.

I attend food shows, TV programs and compete with other chefs to keep myself sharp

I always make it a habit of traveling to some country around the worl immersing myself in the culture and food markets learning about ingredients and techniques that i can then relate to my class and ciriculum

I tend to hone my own skills by attending conferences when I can. I review current trade magazines that discuss new trends and techniques. I communicate with colleagues in my own school, as well as others outside of the organization to get their feedback of customers, clients, etc.

Also, preparing for the ACF practical exam makes the world of a difference. This assists in time management, as well as waste, and utilization of product.

to keep myself up-to-date, I subscribe/read magazines. Attend various events locally. as well as, every time I cook I assure to cook professionally, professional cuts, timing, presentation, aromatics while cooking, mise en place, etc.

Jeremy,

What type of local trends do you share with the students?

Jae Gruber

I regularly participate in ACF meetings, go to workshops and attend foodshows. In addition my school often hosts guest speakers who lecture on cutting edge food trends and techniques.

rory,