Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

I also use this in my academic classes. I have the students do both a self evaluation and peer evaluations. We evaluate work immediately by engaging in constructive discussions that ultimately enriches the entire learning experience.

Because I have many years of experience in the field it is important that I use rubrics, student to student feed back and self evaluation methods in my classes. I also have other chefs come in to judge student projects when appropriate.

I try to get the student to look at their work from the prospective of a potentiona cutomer. Are the expectations of our "guests" being met?

I generally have the finished product for the student to compare their presentation to my own. I demonstrate some items the day prior to the lab and then I construct mise en place trays for the students to see prior to them starting production. During production I complete the recipes myself so that when they present their finished products they will be able to compare look, taste and texture as well as observe the processes as I proceed with my presentation dishes. At critical times I will call for a short procedural demo while myself and the students are in preparation. I also conduct a class discussion the following day using a handout that asks for specific characteristics, problems they may have encountered and encourage other students to describe their experience to other students while in lab production the previous day. Finally I always ask each student individually what they think thy would have done differently and why.

IN earlier foundation classes I bring in two chefs to re-assess my grades and then all three feedbacks will be discussed and if all three have similar comments it underscores that part of the critique, and if only one chef or two chefs make similar comments it brings a great chance to talk about subjectivity in grading food.