Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Boomer teaching X & Y students

What a difference in teaching styles from when I was in school and how school is taught now. The thing that drives me crazy is how the school is blamed for everything. The parents and students don't want to take responsibility for failure. This country spends way to much on education to be turning out so many inept graduates. Just push Johnny along so he doesn't feel bad and what ever you do don't fail him. It might hinder his development.
I'm an instructor at a tech school and people here are always blaming the public schools for the poor quality of students who attend here. I was also a soccer coach in HS and college and many of my players came from public schools and were getting 1500+ on their SAT's.
Trying to understand their mind set is very puzzling!!!!!

Lauren,
you have touched on a huge issue & one that could be discussed for a very long time. There does seem to be a lack of ownership by both students & parents. The best we can do is to continue to push.

Ryan Meers, Ph.D.

I am 66 and have been teaching on a college level--part time--since 1985. Yes some students do not take responsibility for their success or failure BUT the instructor can be key in bringing a sense of participation and ownership to the student in the classroom. I do not suggest that the instructor become a "parent" but rather the instructor demonstrates the importance of the subject they are teaching to the student, in terms of their future success. It is critical to engage the student and demonstrate the skills they will need in the work place. Also Gens X & Y do not believe they will "have it better" than their parents. So an instructor needs to reaffirm that knowledge and responsibility are key to their future and professional opportunities.

Marykay,