Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Multiple Styles of Learning at once

As a culinary instructor, I find it challenging to keep all of my students engaged in the subject matter at the same time. During Demo/lecture days, I find it hard to keep all of the students entertained with what we are trying to demo. I understand that not everyone learns the same way, so I try to go over the lesson 2-4 different ways. I have noticed that when I take that approach, it's a more effective way of teaching the entire class. Especially with having such a broad age range in students.

-Gabriel Alvarez
Le Cordon Bleu Chicago

Gabriel,

Thank you for this post. You could try to engage students in the demos by having one or two of them up front with you doing what you direct them to do rather than doing it yourself. You can also have a series of prepared questions that you ask students at key points in the demo. They do not always have to be about the specific task of the day. The questions can be about previous activities, homework assignments, etc.

Jeffrey Schillinger

I agree that it is difficult to keep everyone engaged at the same time. Finding multiple ways to show the students is key. This tactic is great for being a culinary instructor, because there are MANY many way to come up with a similar final product. I also encourage the students to come up during demo to attempt the skill that I just showed them. I feel that engaging them immediately with HANDS ON interaction works very well. ANd even though all the students may not have the opportunity to practice the skill at that time, during demo, they do enjoy watching each other practice for the first time. That seems to keep their interest!!

Jean,