Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

testing

I give a 5 question test at the begining each new class to assess how much they know. Then I get them to write a short paragraph on what they think is important about the classes. believe it or not I get alot of insite out of this.

Cecil,

This sounds like an effective method for assessing student retention of information. Do the tests count towards the students' grades or are they used for assessment only?

Tremayne Simpson

Sounds like a great idea we have implemented this into some of the classes, and it seems to be working very well.

By know how much and what the students know, you can now focus on their weak points and not spend a lot of time on the information they already know.

All students must be tested some how, weather ist at the beginning,middle or the end,Simple,easy or very chalenging its good to see how much they do, or do not know. Once this is done ,you can continue.

John,

I agree and I am a huge proponent of providing students with pre and post, diagnostic assessments. It is also a great tool for time management in the course, becausse an instructor can use the results to determine how they should allocate time,for each topic.

Tremayne Simpson

John,

I agree and I am a huge proponent of providing students with pre and post, diagnostic assessments. It is also a great tool for time management in the course, becausse an instructor can use the results to determine how they should allocate time,for each topic.

Tremayne Simpson

I have also done this recently and it help me identify the students that needed more help.

This is deffinetly helpful. It allows you to know where the classes strengths and weaknesses are. This will enable you to prepare a better lesson plan.

I think this is a good idea for retention. Students will not usually miss school if there are tests involved.