Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

ED 106

ED 106 made me realize that just because they are adult learners they still may be in the process of learning how to read instead of reading for instruction or reading to learn, because of their past experiences, we so quickly jump to the conclusion that they have the necessary skills to be successful in the college environment, when they need detailed instructions also.  I sometimes may be a micorowave instructor, when instead I need to pre-heat, and bake at the desired temperature and at the required time necessary to make sure all students acheive their educational goals, and be successful in the college environment as well as in their desired workforce.

I totally agree. As a newer instructor, I am still attempting to find the baseline where my student's learning actually starts. Having 30 years of experience in my field and reducing the massive amounts of information into smaller nuggets for beginners has been my personal challenge. Each class gets better, but I still do not feel that I have this mastered.

I like the microwave metaphor that you used and have found that the practical application of the intended subject matter will always fully engage the classroom and is the best way that I have found to teach.

Have you found any short cuts to identifying student learners that have learning challenges, other than identifying themselves?

I am still pretty new to teaching, but with my experiences so far I have learned each term new ways to make each class better. I have found ways to figure out the different dynamics of each class and then have new ideas/ways to teach to make sure it gets through to the students. I have found that it is VERY important to emphasize the key points of why each subject is important for their future career and how they will have to apply their new knowledge later on.