Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

ED104 Late assignments

As an accountant, I still struggle with allowing late assignments.  If the deadline is 11:59 and I accept work at 12:05 what about people who work during the night?  I also ensure students have the information necessary to work ahead if they wish.  I feel drawing the line enables me to be fair to all students (unless there is a death or hospitalization).

I read with interest your comments about accepting late assignments. I have
found in teaching that there are sometimes special circumstances that allow
for a late assignment, however to your point, where does one draw the line?
Once an instructor permits late work it is hard to reinforce the importance
of timely submission - being penalized for late work may be a hard lesson to
learn, but the professional workforce is far less forgiving than the
classroom and we owe it to our students to prepare them in these workplace
performance skills.

There are also time zones to consider when teaching online classes that make it more difficult to "draw the lines" unless you are very clear in setting the expectation up front and identifying whether the deadline is based on Eastern time, etc.

I really emphasize to students the importance of submitting assignments, projects, and homework in on time.  The student should be held accountable to submission dates, I pratice this currently and it works really well. 

I stress how important it is to make deadlines. My students still struggle getting assignments in on time. I then came up with having a fun and food night when big assigments are due and it works. They turned in their research paper on time