Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Wrong attire but perfect candidate

I was wondering if anyone can share their experience on this subject. Do you think it will be worth it to take the risk with hopes that you can groom that individual into the person that you are looking to hire?

Leberth,
I would think so. The talent and skills the candidate brings to the job are critical. Through coaching, you can guide an employee toward appropriate attire. It may be necessary on the other side of the topic to alter your expectation for attire. How crucial is attire to one's job performance?

Dr. Patricia Kapper

Thank you Dr. Kapper. That is an is an area that I have always questioned when it came to the hiring process. I would always question myself weather to take the risk or not.

Leberth

Leberth,

You are most welcome, Leberth.

Dr. Patricia Kapper

I have accepted the responsibility to groom candidates if they appear to be the right candidate.

When I graduated from college 40 years ago, I purchased my interview suit and did not realize I left my tag on my sleeve. The Executive Director pointed this fact out after the interview. Long hair and beards were also popular at this time. I had both. The ED was good enough to point out that I would not be perceived as professional.

I appreciated his candor and followed his direction. He employed and trained me. I believe it was mutually beneficial for the two of us.

I have hired many people who eventually changed their grooming habits when they saw the benefits.

James,
Great personal story, James. You have been fortunate to come across potential employers who saw your potential and provided the necessary guidance. I am sure that you have paid back that good fortune many times over as you have mentored others regarding their appearance. I think that is our obligation when we see the potential in candidates.

Dr. Patricia Kapper