Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Proper transition from Employee's assessment to the Management’s

I am new to Management and have the first opportunity to do the formal evaluation coming up. I have a couple of employees that have already done the self evaluation and have evaluated themselves much higher than I believe their actual performance level is. I understand that opening the process with the employee assessing themselves is valuable. However, how then do I transition to my assessment while still making it feel like a partnership meeting?

This is a very difficult situation due to the fact that as employees we always see ourselves performing at a higher level than some of our supervisor view us. I would actually give them some specifics on what I have observed and hopefully we can move forward in a positive direction that will assist the employee understand our expectations.

After reviewing the self-evaluation with the employee and receiving the employees comments as to why they evaluated their self at the level that they have, I would address with them the positives of their views and redirect their thinking to meeting the goals that we have outlined for their current job duties. Reassure them of where we would like to see them at with our goals.

Rating one's self is difficult and often times this can get sticky as rating higher is sometimes done in hopes of translating to a raise or other benefit. I agree with basically making sure the scale that is used is clear and objective. That way if there are differing opinions as to level of performance, it can be sited by more objective measures. Sometimes effort is what people score themselves on rather than final product. Making an employee feel all along the way that their efforts are noticed and with positive feedback, they tend to show a better product. Also, as per the course, getting 360 degree feedback is important.