Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Experiential Learning

How does experiential learning help students to connect relevancy and application to what they are learning?

It is not until the student starts actual hands on experience at the clinical site that they begin to put everything together that they have been studying in class. I can be shown or told what to do many times, but until I actually have hands on experience I cannot do the skills I have been learning in the classroom. Being a clinical instructor I get to see this actually happen with my students as they put it all together with "real" clients in a facility. This is so rewarding to see.

Shirley,

Absolutely! This is another way instructors can see the "lightbulb moment" when it all clicks. The experiential component of clinical learning is vital. Excellent observations!

Dr. James Willis III

In learning situation, when we learn something from a lecture, it is quit different then when we practice it. experiential learning helps our students to visualize the materials in better understanding and productive. This where they can really show their knowledge of what was being taught in the class setting.

Romane,

You are very right! There are many methods to help translate the skills we teach to the experience of actually doing them. You are right to point out that experiential learning helps with that translation.

Dr. James Willis III

It is extremely relevant in that the theory and practice become real and the actual application of the practice. The theory is discussed to reinforce the why of the application as well as reinforcing the skills.

Carlos,

Absolutely! You are very right that students working in the field are able to make the transition from theory to application. This is a very important part of the learning process. Great job!

Dr. James Willis III