Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

How do you convince young adults to embrace critical thinking?

I am a teacher at a post secondary automotive training school. I teach a program where the usage of critical thinking skills will help a student advance more rapidly than a student not applying them - which is true for just about anything. What I struggle with is most student's inability to deal in the "grey area" - that is to say that if they are facing a challenge that isn't a simple black or white task/activity, some will either shut down, stating that "this is stupid" rather than thinking and working through the challenge to come up with a positive outcome. Some students demonstrate proficiency in this skill, but not enough to be able to impact other group members in a way to encourage them to try what they witness from their peer. Any input would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

George,
This is a challenge that many of us face in helping our students to become more effective at reflective thinking and problem solving. One of the things I have found to engage my students is the use of case studies. I tie the case studies to income potential so I show them that if they are able to work through and solve this problem their income could be attached to this success. So if they want to continue to do routine tasks that do not require any type of problem solving then this is what their income will be but if they will think through and solve this problem in the car or truck then their value goes up. It works for some students that "get it" and for others it is just not worth effort to think independently. Sad but true yet in many cases they are the students that complain that they cannot seem to get their careers moving forward.
Gary

I believe that the instructor can set the stage for learning in the class room. While the instructor cannot make the come on time or put in prior preparation. The instructor can share their enthusiasm for a subject.