Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Learning Process

I have been teaching for over 6 years now and I totally have a different outlook of the learning process. The process of understanding learning and different concepts such as memory is significant and plays a vital role.

Sabrina,
Glad to hear how you have expanded your understanding of how individuals learn and how you can plan your instructional delivery to target the different ways and keep your students engaged throughout the course. I wish you continued teaching success.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

Sabrina,
I too have been teaching for over 6 years and agree that the process of understanding learning and different concepts is significant in each students memory and learning styles, I have found that not all students are alike and although their is a planned curriculum it can always be adjusted to the learning to benefit the student.

One of the schools I work for is especially interested in group learning. We have tended to build the groups around common experiences. But based on this course and the discussions I am reading, I will recommend that next semester we try building some our groups for group projects according to self-described learning styles. I expect this will pay us some unanticipated dividends.

David,
It will be interesting to see the results you get with this new format. Group dynamics need to be managed carefully if each individual is to get what is needed from the group assignment. I use groups a lot in my teaching format and find that the results achieved are very beneficial because the majority of workers will find themselves in groups settings once out in the work world and they need to learn how to work with others.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

i wonder if 'learning styles' can be taught. I have taught alot overseas and some cultures emphasize rote learning and many of the students have incredible abilities to memorize info. What are your thoughts on this?

Joseph,