Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Gary,
Glad this information was helpful to you as you plan your instructional delivery. Knowing that these filters are being used helps as you reinforce your content and help students make applications.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

I also teach composition and have had the same experiences when it comes to assignments. In my speech course, I encourage the students to choose topics that they have some familiarity with.
when I explain that this also helps with their apprehension while speaking they seem to understand the importance. As an English teacher, I have always tried to get them to transfer the grammar drill/instruction to their writing. I am still working on that.

Debbie,
It is a challenge for sure. Many students as you know don't see the value of composition (effective communication). Yet clear communication both written and oral is what promotes career development. You are on the right track with your approach. I teach a required gen ed course as well so I can appreciate your situation. My students do not want to be in the course and it is my job to convince them that what I am teaching has value to them. Tough sell for sure.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

Students cannot learn if they cannot relate to the subject or experiences. I use life experiences or references to popular culture, TV, movies, etc., to assist and drive the point home.

Fordham,
Making connections for students is critical. You are right about them not being able to see the value of the course if they cannot connect to it. Sharing stories from the field and popular cultural references help them to see why the content is being taught and how it will help with their career development.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.