Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

At a culinary school- the students are usually visual/ hands on. I find they do the best with things that are demonstrated first- so they can see exactly what we are grading them on. It's interesting to see how they do on dishes that we don't demonstrate. (they were demonstrated in previous classes and then repeated in this class)

Hi Jennifer,
Thanks for making this point about visual learners. It serves to reinforce the need to make sure we use every learning avenue we can to illustrate the concepts we are trying to share with our students.
Gary

As a chef instructor, I provide thorough demos & the student must watch, take notes, work with past instructional info, & be prepared to complete the competencies.

Being a dental instructor, I find that visual learning works the best. I demonstrate a dental procedure, explaining each type of material and instrument needed. After the demonstration, the students then perform and repeat back the information of the procedure.

I agree. I use visual aids to get points across.

I agree as an automotive instructor I am dealing with a lot of hands on students. It is import to have trainings aids available during our daily discussions in the classroom.

Hi Don,
Good comments about the need for graphic teaching aids. In your field they have to not only know it they must see it and do it if they are going to be successful. Keep up the good work.
Gary

I am an automotive instructor and find that most of my students are visual/hands on learners. They need to see the task done and then try to accomplish the task themselves.