Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Learning 400 new things a year

This doesn't seem like a lot to learn in an entire year of life. I will be searching for ways to make sure my students reserve as many of their yearly allotted "learnings" for my class.

Eric,
It really isn't a a lot but it is a challenge since we are exposed to thousands of messages in a year and we need to select what is important enough to retain. As instructors we need to make our message clear and our content meaningful so it will be among the 400 things they learn this year.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

I always tell people that as long as you have breath in your body, life is a constant teacher and always be open to learn.

Niani,
Right you are. I have been teaching for many years and yet each time I start a new course I try to introduce something new in terms of content or activity so the course will remain current and exciting for me and my students.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

I feel like I have learned at least 100 of the yearly thing in the first section of this course.

Shannon,
Great to hear. Just think you now have that much less to learn the rest of the year. Whew!
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

As I have. As many years as I have been a welder instructor, I use the same technique. There are certain terms, words that only describe or are related to the eye, hand coordination that a welder will relate to. In one of the phases we teach I only drive about a half a dozen. words or terms. When II see them on the floor quite a time later they always remind me of the experience and yell out the words. I get the biggest kick out of it.

George,
Shows two things, one that you are teaching your students valuable and needed career words and two, that you are making an impact on them since they are able to remember these words over a long period of time. Keep up the good work!
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.