Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Adults approach influenced by past experience

Hi, Im Corinne, I have been teaching at a vocational tech school for 16 years. This course will help me with the challenge of teaching adult students with past experience and bad habits that have been formed. Re-teaching is often more difficult then teaching a person with no experience.

I have a student who worked for a temp/reassignment firm before coming to culinary School. She probably new more than I did about a lot of the HR issues we discussed in class. I found it helpful, as did her fellow students, to get some real-world insight from her at the end of a discussion. Where she was able to learn was in applying her corporate situations to restaurants.

Hi Paul,
Good use of a in class resource. Our students have so many life experiences that it is a joy to use these experiences when they are relevant to that day's discussion.
Gary

As often, adult learners challenge what we teach them because they'd previosuly learned something a different way.

An ex-military had questioned the way I set up a film budget, as it was inconsistent with the way he had filled out strict government requisitions.

In that case, there was no real conflict except that the student was comparing apples to oranges (a film budget to a military requisition). The individual elements were the same (desc, qty, unit cost, unit of measure, etc.), but the semantic memory was out of context.

We were able to discuss the application of the film budget in a way that allowed him to stretch himself outside of his rigid training.

Hi Joe,
Thank you for this great example. This is what understanding and meeting the diverse learning components of adults is all about. You were able to keep this person engaged and using his skills even when they were quite different from what you were teaching. Good job of customizing instruction.
Gary