Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Managing

How can an employee learn a manager is always busy and response is very short whenever he or she answers?

Hi Andrea!

As a manager, I would communicate with the employee that a quick response does not mean that I am upset or rude, or that the question is not important. It simply means that things are very busy at the moment.

However, if an employee asks a question and is obviously stressed, the manager must make a value judgment and prioritize whether or not time should be taken to handle the situation. Sometimes managers get so busy that they lose the sensitivity to their employees' needs. At that point, it is wise for the manager to slow down and address the employee's concern or question.

Additionally, I, as a manager, scheduled a time each day where I was completely available to employees for questions, issues, etc. Unless it was an emergency, that was the time to address such things.

Employees must realize that a manager's schedule is busy, but we must likewise never discount, or even appear to discount, an employee's question or concern.

Jay Hollowell
ML101 Facilitator

I think that it goes back to communication between an employee and their manager. In a one on one meeting, the two must address these issues. The employee must understand to not take it personally that their manager is always busy or is always short with them. In turn, a manager has to be approachable and open to the employee.

Eileen,

Thanks for the input. I think your second point about the manager being approachable and open can help that manager avoid the employee thinking they are "always (too) busy" for them. Managers must be empathetic to the needs of their people; giving time is paramount.