Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

brain function

when discussing the brain in class, my students are always amazed of how complex the brain is. do you think we will ever know the full function of the brain and what all it can do?

I do not
The brain is an amazing system that is constantly changing. This could include: behavior, mood, and mental issues.
Our brains begin to mature even before we are born. Although they continue to mature throughout most of our lives, brains do not mature at the same rate in each individual.

This should not be surprising. After all, our bodies grow at different rates — we reach puberty at different ages and our emotional maturity at different times as well. Why should our brains be any different?
© 2014 American Psychological Association

Holly,
I have been doing brain research for the past 30 years. During my research I have been amazed that something that weighs approximately 3 lbs. and is 80% water can do what it does. We have come so far but I don't think we will ever be able to understand nor research all that the brain does. My specific area of research is in brain processing and the use of different filters in taking in information and then decoding it for later use. I figure I have about 300 more years of research to go before I have a good handle on this so you can see why I respond like I am.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

Brandon,
Right you are and thank you for this good information about understanding learner rates because as you say we are all different and unique.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

It always amazes me the potential and configuration that the brain is capable of. Sometimes I feel with the younger generations that I teach, they have no idea of their potential. I try and have them figure out what type of learner they are first, that way they can see what works best for them.